Tail of Pruning Two Mystery Apple Trees

apples

 

My dad’s house has these two apple trees.  We are not sure of the cultivar of apple.  They were planted by prior owners of the property.  For 10 years they always produced small, diseased apples.

One year my dad wanted to cut down the trees and start over with another fruit tree.  I said, “let me learn how to prune and nourish the trees and if they do not produce fruit then we can cut them down.”  My dad agreed.

I learned everything I could about pruning and put wood chips under the drip line.  The next season to my surprise the trees exploded with apples!

Every branch in me that does not bear fruit he takes away, and every branch that does bear fruit he prunes, that it may bear more fruit. (John 15:2)

One thought on “Tail of Pruning Two Mystery Apple Trees

Leave a Reply

